Outbox and Syncing with SAP
This section describes the Synchronization process with SAP. Its during this step that updates made by the user are sent back to SAP for processing and updates from SAP are sent back to the BlueWorx application.
Sync settings, including the ability set set up Sync reminders, is configured in the Maintain Core Settings Sync Tab. Further information on how the Sync process works is provided in the article BlueWorx Synchronization - How It Works.
There are two primary sync types:
A Full Sync sends all data to SAP from the outbox and then completely refresh the data for the user. A full sync initiated by:
- Adding or removing a profile assigned to the user
- Manually initiated by the user
- Based on BlueWorx systems settings - days since last full sync
A Delta Syncs send all the data to SAP from the Outbox and delta updates to Functional Locations, Equipment, Measurement Points, Materials and BOM's. As of SP10 the default option for syncing Orders and Notifications is also via a delta sync, prior to this release syncing received all the data for the users Orders and Notifications (i.e. refreshed every time).
Updates made in BlueWorx are generally saved in the applications Outbox ready for Synchronization to SAP.
Users can navigate to the details of an Outbox record by selecting it. They can also delete a record using the circle cross icon in the list.
Synchronization with SAP
When users initiate a Sync with the SAP system it processes outstanding updates from the Outbox. Syncing can only occur where a valid connection exists (i.e. Cellular or WiFi) and where the SAP system can be accessed and is available.
Syncs are initiated by the user from the main BlueWorx menu or from the Outbox. This illustration shows additional options, as of SP6, where in addition to a standard sync, the user can initiate a Download Only sync (i.e. do not send from the Outbox) and a Full Sync.
Note that in releases prior to SP6 the Full Sync option was accessible from the Settings Dialog menu.
Having initiated a Sync the screen displays the progress. The various steps displayed depend on the data to be sent and received. The following illustration shows a sync in action. The Send to Background option is available from SP6 and displays only for delta syncs (not full syncs).
Prompting the User to Sync
As of SP5 optional configuration allows for the ability to prompt users to sync based on a periodic checks of relevant SAP Order creates or updates or a 'time since last sync'. The checks are only made where the user in in the application and is not in a detailed screen. i.e. the check, based on the timer, will occur when in the various menus or list screens. To conserve mobile data this setting can optionally be disabled when on mobile data.
Here's an example of what the user see when enabled and an order is changed:
Notes - Order Change is not detected on Order/ Operational Long Text does not fire a SAP change event and is therefore not detected as a change. The same might apply to other more legislated updates, like GOS, DMS and PRT attachments
Automatic Background Syncs
As of SP6 have included the ability to optionally trigger background syncs with SAP based on a periodic checks of relevant order updates or a 'time since last sync'. The checks are only made where the user in in the application and is not in a detailed screen. i.e. the check, based on the timer, will occur when in the various menus or list screens. Under this background sync option either the standard delta sync is undertaken or a delta sync without sending Outbox items to SAP.
Where an update to the SAP system fails to process inside of SAP, an error message will be returned and is accessible from the Outbox. In the following example the Work Order Confirmation could not be updated because a user currently has the Work Order open for edit in SAP. The user should correct the error or contact others to do so before re-syncing.
Order Change Sync Prompt
If enabled by your administrator, the BlueWorx application, when in menus and lists, will check with SAP every x minutes to see if new or changed Orders exist. It does not check for Orders that that are removed. To conserve mobile data this setting can optionally be disabled when on mobile data. This functionality is new to SP5.